Every individual in a society has a responsiblity to obey and just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that every individual in a society has the right to obey just laws and to disobey unjust laws. I agree insofar as we can clearly define what a particular society terms as just and unjust.

A democratic society is one which rules upon the principle of government of the people, by the people and for the people. This shows that authority is vested in the hands of the people and they are the ones responsible for choosing leaders that they feel has the capacity in both character and leadership acumen to lead them. Even after a leader is chosen, before a law is passed, for example in Nigeria, it must have been approved by at least two-third of the house passing the law and further approved by the president. This shows that laws cannot be just passed at the whims and caprices of those in power, that the interest of the citizenry is at heart.

Nevertheless, we know that the game of politics is not an always forthright game, there are always different shades of colours involved. There can be a consensus among those in authority to pass a law which will only benefit their selfish interests at the benefit of the citizens, at this a citizen can disobey such unjust laws.

Furthermore, we have to know who are the people calling a law unjust and for what reason. A sex trafficker who lures young girls into being sex workers view the law of anyone caught in such unscrupulous action should be given a minimum of 15 years imprisonment as unjust. He feels that he is trying to labour and have a source of income as every other person and should not be punished. Same as a drug trafficker will see the law as unjust for being imprisoned when his business is raided and is caught. They say that everyone should be given the freedom to do what he wants.

Also, there is a mixed lot in every society. We have the citizens, the immigrants, people leaving their illegally and those who are there for academic reasons or solely there for business and other commercial activities. Those who are not citizens will view many laws as unjust because it contradicts what they are used to in their country or it does not favour them in their business and commercial pursuit.

In sum, let us clearly know who is calling a law unjust, what it is and also why it is so-called. This will help to channel our energy in the right direction and ensure that members of a society are following law and order in the society.