Every individual in a society has a responsiblity to obey and just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Should every individual in a society assume lordship of himself in obeying just laws and disobeying and resisting unjust laws? Laws are rules and ethos that guides and direct the activities of people, groups and nations bound by such. Laws are given to maintain order and discipline in a society. Laws are not by themselves governing but has the ability to govern to the extent of those who imposed such laws.

In a democratic system, laws are put in place by the legislators, the law makers and these people assume this position by the vote of the majority. Therefore, the interest of all is juxtaposed when laws and order are made. First, there has to be a clear definition as to what just and unjust law mwan, as this may be relative to people. A person who is involved in human trafficking feels that the ban of this act is an unjust one and him resisting this law is for his own selfish reason and is detrimental to those he’s trafficking. Should the person involved in this nefarious act be let go cause he has a distorted view of what he thinks it just and unjust?

Nevertheless, it is possible for legislators who are in the hem of affairs to be motivated by other motives apart from altruism, allowing their bellies to be their own ‘gods’. In cases like this, such as the move of the President of Nigeria and others to islamize Nigeria which was proved unsuccessful. These avaricious men were moved to do such due to the promise of alliance and other benefits such as gold and large money from the Arab countries such as Dubai and South sudan. This move was greatly resisted by citizens in Nigeria and this move was not then approved.

Furthermore, there is also a rule by dictatorship or the military regime where by laws and rules and passed at the whims and caprices of those who are in power. How can a leader in such a regime ask for more than two-third of the output from different farmlands expect the owners of such farm to cater for his need and that of his family and also make sufficient profit? In such instance, the law should be damned and there should be a collective revolt from citizens.

In sum, every individual in a society are to obey just laws that are not only good for him but are also to the benefit of others and resist unjust laws that are detrimental to the well being of the nation.