Every nation should require students to study at least one foreign language from the elementary school level through the university level.

Foreign language, a language which helps to make communication and also bag a job in the international market. However, students in many countries do not prefer to learn a foreign language. Therefore, it is too tough to say whether making the students study at least one foreign language should be made mandatory or not.

Different countries have different needs. It has been seen that the people of Germany prefers to communicate in their own language that is German. In addition to this, their courses in school are also taught in their own language. However, knowing only German has it’s disadvantage, which is when these students seek for job in the global market, it becomes tough for them as English is necessary for communication in the global market and English is the only language that is been preferred throughout the world. Therefore, it is must for the government of Germany to mandate the use of English language from the elementary school.

However, making the students learn foreign language from school has its own disadvantages. When a foreign language is made mandatory, it is the school’s responsibility to find a proper teacher who can teach the students properly, clear their doubts if any . There are cases that many a times, maybe foreign language teachers are not available for example in Afghanistan where the children don’t even receive education properly especially the girls who reside there, they receive education maybe for few years, therefore, mandating a foreign language in such countries is of no use. Some schools are there whose medium of instruction is in their own vernacular language and they don’t want the students to learn any other foreign language and the reason behind this is that they may forget about their own vernacular language and put more emphasis only on the foreign language. Therefore, in some places, they don’t put much effort in teaching the students at least one foreign language.

Finally, it is totally on the students whether they are fervor to learn any other foreign language or not. Some may have difficulty in learning a foreign language, maybe they take a lot of time and when they get to see that it is taking a lot of time, they loose interest and they drop their idea of learning a foreign language since they consider it to be a time waste. Moreover, there are innumerable students who doesn’t even like the idea of learning a foreign language as they feel that they are comfortable in their own mother tongue.

Learning a foreign language is not at all malicious rather it is of a student’s own betterment as learning it will provide access to the students to communicate with the world outside and also will help them to bag a place in the global market. Therefore, it should be made a compulsory for the government of a specific country to teach at least one foreign language from the elementary school whereas on the other hand if a country like as mentioned above that is Afghanistan where the children are not allowed to do their education and become literate, and girls are only allowed to study maybe for a few years, in such countries inculcating a foreign language in the curriculum is of no use.