Every nation should require students to study at least one foreign language from the elementary school level through the university level.

The word “every and should” here sound austere and unfit, as there are only particular circumstances and countries under which nations decide to require its students to carry out mentioned tasks. Those are when there has to be a cultural, labor or business exchange between the countries. Other than that, only if someone thinks he has the right amount of ability, interest and time to study language, he should go for learning foreign language.

The developing and underdeveloped countries encourage to delegate a good deal of work force to other developed countries in spectrum of earning foreign exchange. For those aspiring to be delegated, by learning the language of the desired country through a course at the end of their school studies, they can, not only greatly increase the chances of their selection for the job in prospective country, but also later on, can enhances their ability of better intermingling with the indigenous people. For example, South Korea seeks for labor force from Pakistan and had established a labor recruitment corporation which mainly evaluate the candidate’s level of Korean and require an intermediate level of it for selection and later on working. Of course, there are factors which count such as candidates’ health and ability to work as labor but the first and the foremost significant is the Korean language proficiency

Let’s not confine language learning just to the work, as there are Academic programs with a cultural exchange as their impetus, that sometimes require and mostly encourage the learning of host country(s) language (s) in order to have the students better fit and in later stages, play their role effectively in a culturally diverse environment while working as an Engineer or Doctor or whatsoever graduate jobs.

There are countries however, where learning new language is not really required, for instance, USA finds English sufficient for the communication and Education purposes. Moreover, there are developed countries like South Korea, where students are already tasked with a lot of exhaustive academic project; they don’t have time for learning new languages, neither they need to, as for the work they already have excessive opportunities in every field of life due to enormity of industries such as Chemical, Mechanical and Naval material producing industries, that opportunities they can easily avail without any foreign language knowledge.

One exception seems pertinent that is there are a lot of multinational companies conducting businesses across the globe. They need students and graduates with foreign language knowledge otherwise it will not be possible to pursue their projects with efficacy most as major portion of manpower sourced from locals. For example, the Mining companies in America might have their head quarter in America, but they might have to be in field in the Latin American countries, such as Peru, Venezuela and so forth. The company workers and representative themselves have to have an adequate command of respective languages in order to better supervise and negotiate with local workers businessmen and to be aware of the new opportunities and their implications.

Therefore, language learning can bolster ones’ career and businesses, when its conducted abroad. However, within the same country learning foreign language without a definite purpose (e.g., good deal of interest in learning foreign languages), might not any purpose and hence it fruitless.