Financial gain should be the most important factor in choosing a career

The issue of whether or not financial gain should be the most important factor in choosing a career is a contentious one. Each side of the argument has its strengths and weaknesses. Nevertheless, I mostly disagree with the opinion that financial gain should be the most important factor in choosing a career and would argue that choosing a career should be done in a holistic manner.

First of all, an employee is paid for the level of expertise he/she has in his/her respective field. A more skilled and expert accountant may get paid more than a software engineer who lacks skills. In order to be skillful in any particular profession a person needs to love that profession. If a person does not like working in a particular professoion, they he would not be able to concentrate his mind on this. Even if he is able to concentrate by force this would not be durable. Because human beings are most of the time driven by imagination rather than will power which starts to deplete after a certain time. For example, a student who loves automobiles, has passion to build robots or drones chooses Computer science or software engineering as his/her major field of study then it is possible that he/she would not find any delight in studying the complex theories of software engineering. Although Software engineers are paid highly, if the student upon graduation from college lacks skill then he would have a hard time searching for jobs rather than earning more than average mechanical engineer;.If the same student had studied mechanical engineering then he might have amassed skills necessary for a mechanical engineering career and would have been able to reach the superlative level of expertise. Hence all the evidences demonstrate that there are so many other factors apart from financial gain which has a significant role in career decision process.

Secondly, financial gain is not everything in human life. Apart from financial gains there are so many things in human life. It is true that without financial solvency a person would not be able to lead his life freely, he would be bereft from the luxuries that life offers. But financial gain does not necessarily ensure his/her mental peace. For example, a student who loved astrophysics chose Medicine as his profession would may earn more in the long run. But he has to sacrifice his dream of pursuing astrophysics. This avaricious decision would may make his life incomplete. Both common sense and personal experience tell us that financial gain should not be the single most important factor while making career choice.

In conclusion, although financial gain is one of the major factors of choosing career, it is not the single most important thing. A holistic approach consisting of the person's individual choice along with financial gain would make the decision making process best.