The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Dr. APJ abdul kalam once told that "rejecting what world has can lead you to produce what world needs.", when you expand your learning ability by learning from what is already known from ages, you can expand your knowledge in that field. The author claims that rejecting the familiar can lead you to increase your self-knowledge. It is true that once you start thinking out-of-the-box you can learn many different things and can expand your knowledge. However, rejecting the familiar can not always lead you to a success in learning.

In 2009, Dr. APJ abdul kalam had made a missle which was called 'The Next Generation' , his missle structure was completely different from previously made missile were in India. He said "I never tried to upgrade the exsisting missile, indeed i wanted to make a new from the scratch" , this inspired many young scientist to think out of the box and should not rely on upgrading the already made artifacts. In the above example, it can be said that rejecting the familiar knowledge can lead us to learn something new and can lead us to a completely new and significant artifact.

However, consider the case of biology, where scientist expand their understanding by researching more on what every generation of new findings has already been made. It is completely foolhardy to make a different theory about the 'evaluation of mankind', if it is already been found out and accepted by the whole world. Instead, accepting these facts and learning those first can lead you to understand more about the particular field. The above hypothesis tells us that we cannot completely reject the previous findings to learn about that field.

In conclusion, it is very difficult to make such a nuance decision whether to reject the familiar or not in order to increase your understanding about self-knowledge. Sometimes in order to make a artifact which should be completely different from what made before, we have to reject the familiar and learn what different we can make. Also, in some field it is totally foolhardy to reject the familiar.