The first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar

I completely agree with the recommendation that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. If we zoom in on the concept of self-knowledge, it can mean variety of things for different individuals, but the most common understanding is the 'knowing yourself as a person'. For knowing yourself, the very first step is to reject all the known things about yourself because only then you'll be able to learn more things and grow as an individual. In spiritual world, when a person is going through the journey of self-realization, he is asked to set aside preconceived notions of his self and start a journey anew.

However, this applies to all the fields and not just spiritual field. Suppose a woman is a classical dancer and wishes to learn the modern hip-hop style. Here, she'll have to forgo the previous knowledge of classical dance only then she'll be able to perfect the hip-hop style. No person can progress in the learning if he is obstinately attached to his familiar knowledge. At some point he needs to come out of that comfort zone and face the challenge of unknown. By competing the unknown, that person grows his aura of self-knowledge. The new challenges put forth by the destiny are to test the mettle of person and he can pass those tests just via facing them. Even ascetics who have renounced the material world, do so in the primary hope of facing new problems and solving them thereby increasing the field of their knowledge. Self-realization is connected with the hardships of embracing the unknown.

Self-knowledge however is not only for an individual. We can see this on a larger scale too. If a community wants to improve and move ahead, it has to forgo the concept of existing knowledge and start exploring new avenues to put their work into. The young people of that community should take risks and together step into the vast ocean of possibilities. Even as a nation, when the citizens want to a developed nation, they are the ones who need to step out and take the dive into the unknown ocean of opportunities. Thus, the recommendation can be applied to all the three levels.

But, one needs to understand that rejecting familiar doesn't mean forgetting the previous knowledge. More often than not, the previous knowledge is what helps in facing new tasks. Hence at the begining, we are actually helped by the prvious knowledge to make decisions on an unknown path. A learned skill never goes out of utility and hence it can be used in some other way.

With that I conclude that the recommendation is correct and we need to reject all the familiar things which cloud our mind before taking that giant leap of self-knowledge.