The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

"Knowledge is divine", this is something we have been told since our childhood days. Knowlegde is the powerful source we usually develop from peers and experts, but it is sometimes forgotten that we also gain a lot from the self experiences and personal interests, interests we have been familiarised by our surroundings. The given claim recommends the first step to this mansion of self-knowledge that is the rejection of familiarity. I disagree with the claim because familiarity is the first step that develops the curiosity to learn more. I believe without being familiar to any particular idea we would never foucs on such idea. Once brought to our conscience our brains starts to function.

To being with, familiarity does not necessarily mean knowing the concept very well, it only means having a vague idea of the concept. For developing self-knowledge in a field, do we need to reject familiarity and start learning from the very basics? I would strongly deny. For instance, take a game of badminton. My character Rani, a girl from villages of India, used to play a game with racket and a cock with her friends, hardly did she know that the game she's playing is called Badminton. She found it intersting and she even excelled in playing the game with her friends. Now with this familiarity, she is more intersted to gain knowledge by her own. In fact, when she visited the town later on, she realised that the game is called Badminton and she attained self-knowledge as she was familiar with the kind of game which she used to play with her friends in her village. This was very advangaeous, infact very crucial for her to develop the self-knowledge in the field of Badminton.

Also, it is pertinent to consider the possibilty of rejection. In continuation of the above example, if Rani could never connect the game she one day saw two players playing with similar rackets and cock on Television, she would never be intersted in developing the Self-Knowledge in this field. She would rather ignore the game if she stared to miss the rules of the game. She would never gain Self-knowledge in this field in case she rejected the very idea of familiarism.

Further, I strongly believe, in a process of gaining Self-Knowledge, we learn a few concepts but we unlearn a lot of other concepts. We might be familiar with few concepts but not obviously not all the concepts, and so we learn them, however we might be familiar with the concept, but on deep diving and on gaining proufundity, we relaise that few of out presumtions were wrogn and we involuntarily unlearn them. For example, Rani knew only the game of rally in Badminton, where you play as a warm up before the actual match. Rain thought this was the very game itself, but little did she realise that that was just a warm up and the real game is to win points by outsmarting the opponent than trying to prolong the game. However, whithout familiarity, there would not be any interst that would drive the lead the person to develop Self-Knowledge

Finally, I believe it would be wise to conclude that the frist step is in Self-Knowledge is not rejecting familiarism, but developing on what is known. While we learn a lot, we even unlearn more. Familiarism is the key to Self-Knowledge. It is the torch bearer and something that ignights the desire to learn in each one of us and thus I rightly believe the recommendation is not an accurate one and require evaluation.