The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Our mind is an ocean of knowledge. While it is true that, sometimes we need to forgo wildly cherished familiar beliefs, so as to garner knowledge, I mostly disagree with the fact that rejection of the familiar is the always the first step to self knowledge. I hold this opinion for two reasons which I will explore in the essay.

To begin with, many a times, it is the old familiar knowledge that paves our way to further knowledge. In such cases rejecting the familiar knowledge would be nothing but a huge blunder. Rather it is imperative, to make the old information that we possess, a foundation, for futher self knowledge and development. For instance, if a person with depression, keeps trying to reject his feelings of being forlorn, then he might never overcome his symptoms. Rather, if he accepts the fact that he is suffering from a depressive disorder and tries to seek appropriate treatment in the form of medications and therapy, then he might recover and go back to normalcy much sooner. Thus self knowledge requires acknowledement of already known concepts and feelings and trying to work towards developing them.

Secondly, when we try and reject the familiar, we tend to develop a negative opinion about it. This can make us stay away from from anything pertaining to that area. Overtime, it maybe possible that the initial known information was indeed true. However, due to the fact that we have a sub-consciously developed a negative attitude towards it, we may forever be reluctant to accept it. For example, a student who is weak at English, may try to convince himself that he is not. However, inspite of trying hard to ace it, he may not be able to. In such cases tolerating the fail

However, it is true that sometimes in life letting go of the what we think and feel is imperative. This can make our minds clear and guide us towards a new beginning. For example, the veteran actress of India nationality who was brought up in the USA was bullied by her classmates which had severe effects on her self esteem. Therefore, she returned to India and tried to leave behind her childhood trauma. Only when she did that, did she develop and self confidence and became the enthusiastic, bold and outspoken woman, that she is today.

Therefore in my opinion, except in a few exceptional cases, rejection of what is familiar to us is not the step to self knowledge. This is because the familiar can help form foundation of our self-knowledge and also we will not form a negative opinion about it.