The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

The path of self-knowledge is filled with hardwork, perseverence and disappointments. The prompt states, the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. In my opinion the acknowledging this as a universal truth is difficult and relative for each individual. This essay explores the complexity of the issue by discussing three examples of utmost importance.

Firstly, self-knowledge is not the result but the process which requires to be started from the beginning. In other words the self-knowledge requires the mind to know nothing at first. For Instance, A Scientist is working on a field which has the potential to revolutionize the world with its application but the contemporary state of that field is in a contraversial state. Some scientists are supporting the field and some are opposing the field with some solid hypothesis. In that case, the scientist working on that field needs to reject or erase anything in his mind whether it is in support or oppose of the field to make a progress. The above example states that one needs to forget everything before starting the journey of self-enlightment.

Secondly, sometimes it is possible that past experience or knowledge is the reason for ones epiphany. For intance, A man who has seen the whole generations engaged in a war which does not have a win or lose result realizes that some thing is not right and the people need to start again. The above example shows how causality can lead to self-knowledge.