The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author states his opinion about self knowledge and in his opinion he is in the favour of rejection of the familar stuff and knowledge. This is completely true and can be agreed upon without any iota of doubt.

We have all been familar with similar circumstances and occurrences since childhood. Sometimes by learining stuff though education or sometimes by general observation, we have formed a general perception of the familar events and happenings both which has happened in the past and also those which occur in the present. But when we start to dive deep into the topics and happenings, we tend to learn things on our own and try to get to the core of it. To get to the actual reason behind the happpenings both in the past as well in present, be it any topic in any subject across the world, we need to procedd with a clear mind, without any prejudices and previously formed notions.

For that to happen, the first and the foremost thing we need to do is to reject whatever opinion we have formed of the subject and the particular topic of the subject both as as result of our preliminary education as well as our normal observations. Hene we need to get rid of the familar stuff. This will help us to keep our mind fresh as well as receptive to the true findings in the research and not overlook the intricasies of it. This will help us to ultimately to unlearn the familar stuff and also relearn what is essentially true . This process of self knowledge is of prime importance and it helps us to open new boundaries in any research, education or task in any field across the globe.

The most important examples which can be rightly be showcased here is like when we are opting to visit any country where the driving rules or the lanes in which the cars drive are different from the native country. Here in this case, in order to have self knowledge, we need to reject whatever we have been doing while driving, whatever rules we were following in the native country and relearn them. ANother example might be that of sex education in case of adolescents. This is a sensitive area where most of the middle school students might be having certain pre conceived notions about the topic. The ideal way in which self knowledge should be acquired is by rejecting the previously help familar beliefs and knowledge and go on to learn in a whole new way. The adult educaition programmes across the globe in various countries also relies on this form of self education. Oten adults have been brought up in different cultures so diverse that they have certain cultural influences in the way they think and believe, for example, certain communities have a lot of superstitions as a part of their social belief which might sometimes be detrimental to the whole community as a whole. in such cases, we need a complete upheaval of the previously familar ideologies which might have been passed on through generations and this would be the first step in attaining a true and logical self- knowledge on the topic. Similar such example can be stated in science and arts research where more often thatn not we need to reject familar ideas and findings in order to start afresh and continue to attain the ultimate truth behind them.

Rejecting what we have been familar with- the ideals, findings, beliefs etc is truly the first step in the process of self- knowledge and in doing so, we become better equipped to handle new information which might be more relevant and logical in attaining self knowledge, This recommendation will ultimately aid in handling the changing world circumstances and happenings.