The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The key characteristic one needs, regardless of his own capabilities or talent, in life to be happy is the the ability to able to accurately gauge his own his own capabilities. To be able to gauge one’s own capabilities on must have sufficient self-knowledge. The key to having self-knowledge is by trying to travel through unchartered territory i.e. rejecting what you're familiar with. I strongly agree with the given prompt that the first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar. I strongly agree with it for the following two reasons.

Most people are aware of their characteristics that make them affable or set them apart as their kin or milieu might regularly compliment the on it. They might also be biased in their compliments or maybe looking foryou to compliment them back, as social constructs expects you to. Long-winded exposure to hte same people and same social setting can paint a obscure image of yourself to you in your head and reinforces the positive aspects of you with your negative qualities being masked behind a curtain of niceness. So to unfold that curtain one must regularly try to get exposure with unfamiliar situation. It can be through travelling or meeting new people.

Humans has a proclivity for choosing comfort. Comfort is every situation which we are familiar with, where things go according to plan, where people behave as expected and the mind is at ease. To strabble that complacency and endure discomfort in many forms to be abe to test ownes own mettle we have to reject situations we are familiar with.

Some might feel it is possible to gain self-knowledge from familiar situations as the way we behave is representative of we who we are. But this view flawed as it ignore the tendency ost of us have to behave awkwardly in unknown or unfamiliar situation. Hence, first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.