The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The author is of the opinion that in order to know about oneself, one needs to let go of everything familiar, that is leaving the security blanket and stepping into the unknown. I agree with the author in so far that to truly begin to know about ourselves, one needs to know what she isn't familiar with.

If you always have been living the same life for many years without any change and getting to accustom to new things, you are in a stable zone. Admittedly, this might work for some people, but until and unless you challenge yourselves with unknown situations, you might know your strengths and weakness. The things we learn about ourselves by doing things which are strikingly different from our routine might be far more useful to the path of one's self knowledge and complacent, than the mundane things.

Also, by rejecting the familiar and acknowledging the unknown, you might end up choosing a path that may prove to be much better than the one you were following before. For example, I had a friend who was an investment banker. He didn't know what he wanted to do, so simply followed his father and settled for a life which was familiar and stable.Though, he always loved photography, he never took a risk on it, until last year. He submitted his portfolio to a local artist, and landed an internship. It was risky for him, as he was leaving his well reputed job for an internship with a paltry stipend, but he had never been better and is learning so much about art and more ad more about himself. Thus, stepping into the unfamiliar may involve risks, but the payoffs are more than worth it.

People might argue that rejecting familiarity may not help discovery about one self; it might harm the thinking or could even have horrible effects, or may not help them in any way, and they simply end up losing on a good thing going on.They do state valid points, but this is the risk you have to take if you want to start self discovery.

In conclusion, I believe that in order to start truly knowing yourself, one needs to be able to experience different things, and this will only happen if the person tries to experience and enjoy the unknown things. After all, you never know what the unknown might bring.