The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper."Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lob

According to the editor, there is an increasing , amolst doubled time complained by the commuters, rush-hour traffic on Blue highway between the urban and suburban area . Once there was a choice of widening the highway with and extra lane of traffic, while the last year's fact of Green way nearby makes the editor deny this opinion and turn to bicycles. So the editor suggests that the an additional bicycle lane would relieve the pressure of the Blue highway on rush-hour will be better. I dout this suggestion because there are still some questions we need to reexamine carefully.

First of all, there is no obvious relevance proved by the editor between the two highways. As the editor doesn't offer us the conditions of the two high ways ,we can not make the conclusion that the measure failed in the Green High way cannot be applied to the Blue High way. There is a possibility that an the two hight way may be different with the traffic. For example, the Green High way's traffic jam was caused by the loosing management of the local police, so the traffic worsen by an addional lane where more drivers felt like to drive on.While under the rigid rule by the Blue High way , it would do with another lane.

Secondly, the complains by the commuters are not on behalf of all drivers who drive on thr Blue High way. Complained by the commuters the fact that their time on the road to the center of city doubled,the editor doesn't show us why they spent more time when driving. And without the number of complaints , we still couldn't make the conclusion about the traffic condition of the Blue Hight way. Maybe there were only a few complants and the traffic condition was actually good in rush-hours.

Thirdly, the editor's suggetion that building an additional way for people riding bicycle is unfounded with no evidence of necessity. The editor does mention the local people like riding bicycles , he still , however does not tell us wheher these people is riding as hobby or as an essential traffic method. So we should not let people who ride bikes for fun to go to work with biclycle because they may not like to.

In conclusion, I suggest the editor shoule make a comprehensive survey of the tow highways and make further suggestions.