The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo, the director of a television channel argues that the alloted time for viewing weather and home-based news should be returned to its previous level because of the complaints recieved from viewers and the cancellation of advertising agreements with the station. However, though the conclusion reached by the business manager might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness and cogency of the argument. Thus, the following two assumptions must be backed up with specific evidence.

First of all, the manager assumes that complaints recieved from viewers during the time period form a significant population of total viewers. That is, he may erroneously have asserted that the number of viewers who complain make up a huge chunk of total viewers on the channel. It may be possible that just a few of the tv stations viewers have made lodged those complaints. Perhaps, the vast majority of regulars are well satisfied with the content they recieve from the station. There is also a potential that the complaints are even from competing channel's ultras who wish for the station's collapse. If any of these possibilities proves true, the argument of the manager is severly weakened.

Secondly, the managers assumes that the reason local businesses have pulled out of advertising contracts are linked to the scheduling of tv programs. But, this may not be so, it is possible that there is major crises in the local business industry forcing all local business to pull out of all contracts and allot all funds into preserving themselves. It is not also far fetched to consider whether the reason for pulling out was in relation to the changes in program scheduling. The manager can take a step further by having a conversation with home-based businesses that pulled out to ascertain the reason for this decision. Armed with this information, the author will be able to put forward a more convincing arguement.

To summarize, while the business manager may seem to presents a sound argument concerning the decrease of revenue in his company, more data is needed to establish a firm conclusion. If the executive is able to provide evidence to two assumption, it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the arguement