The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager has jump into conclusions without quantifiable facts and reasons. The devoted time to national news and less time to weaher and local news s something which must have been done with specific reasons and the manager shoud go and back to the drawing board to before creating baseless assumption.

To begin with, The Local businesses might have canceled their contract due to other reasons which the manger has not find out; maybe the businesses found a better way to adverstise, maybe they are not making profits and they decide to stop advertising, maybe they are even closing up! These are the thngs the manager needes to find out before restoring thetime allocated to weather and local news.

Also, That viewers made complaints does not justify the fact that there as been decrease in number of viewers gained by the television station. There might be other factors contributing the less view. What if there as been a changed to schedule at their place of work and they come back late from work and they couldn't meet up with the news. There for the manager does not have all the neccesary fact to determine the reason behind the decrease in view.

Furthermore, It is neccesary to take note that the manger assuming that getting more views will help increase the company's advertising revenues is a baseless conclusion. The fact that the company gained more views does not mean that the viewers will be interested in what they are advertising.

Finally, the manager should consider other factors before restoring the time devoted to weather and local news. In additon to the factors, The main reason why more time was devoted to the national new should be considered to. Accurate facts and reasons should be gotten before any decision is made as regard restoring the allocated time.