The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station:

"Over the past years, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, the local businesses, that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Here the author mentions that in order to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the news channel should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. It attracts less credibility to the statement because of the following reasons.

Firstly, the author mentions that there is a switch from telecasting weather and local news to national news and hence there has been a rising complaint of consumers for the same. But the consumer's complaints could be because of any reason related to the content telecasted as the national news that is shown would be something they already know of and doesn't interest them. It can also be because recently the weather in their particular area has been fluctuating a lot so they're more concerned to know about that update rather than national news, which nowadays they can even watch that on their handset or read a newspaper.

Secondly, the author mentions that local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. This can be because of various reasons and not because of telecasting national news. For example, it can be because of the local businesses are looking to expand their business so they now telecast on a wide range of audience channel rather than a local one. It can also be because of they getting cheaper advertising cost with other news channels as compared to this one and so they have shifted. Another reason can be they have come up with new products and services or changed the current advertising campaigns and moved to alternate channels.

So in conclusion, the manager stating that moving to weather and local news would help him revive business does not stand a solid ground on the information provided by him. For me to get convinced that moving back will actually bring in revenue, the manager should conduct a survey of consumers and proving the hypothesis that whether the consumers really are interested and watch the weather news. in turn a survey concerning local businesses should also be conducted to know their real motive to switch of channels or mode of advertisement. The manager should support his/ her statement with relevant data to go ahead with the change.