The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument Mayor Jones makes that building a subway will relieve traffic and improve Briggsville's economy is deeply flawed. It bases it's conclusion on three major assumptions on the public transport system and the behavior of the public, which, when broken down, completely dismantles the validity of the argument.

First of all, the opponent assumes that a good deal of people will switch from bus transportation to subway transportation because of the better condition of the subways. However, this fails to take into account cost. Maybe the townspeople will still prefer riding buses after the subway is built becuase bus rides will be significantly cheaper. It is very likely that the subway rides will be expensive, due to the high cost of building the subway in the first place. If very few people opt to ride the subway in place of the bus, than nothing has changed ultimately.

Furthermore, Jones assumes that getting people off the buses will reduce traffic congestion. Even if the subway were to successfully convert bus riders to subway riders, it may still not affect traffic patterns. The majority of traffic congestion is not likely caused by only a few buses on the road; many more motorists ride cars than buses. Unless the whole town's bus operation shuts down, all the buses will still be running even if some customers leave. So with the same number of buses on the road, and no presumed affect on car drivers, the subway will not lessen traffic.

Finally Jones predicts that the subway will lessen time spent in traffic, thereby increasing worker productivity and the economy. At this point however, it is not known if traffic times will lessen at all. Hypothetically, if traffic congestion were to be reduced, worker productivity may not increase either. The most reduced traffic times can do is get workers to their destination faster. There is no concrete evidence that workers will be happier or more motivated to work once there. Thus, we can not conclude that the economy will benefit from the subway venture.

Ultimately the subway may not garner customers from the bus and may not alleiviate traffic at all. All these assumptions lead to an increadibly flawed conclusion.