The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super screen- produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that the movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

this argument concludes that the super screen movie production company should allocate more funds to advertising based on a report that found that fewer people had attended super-screen produced movies in the past year and yet positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased, indicating that the issue lies in the public's lack of awareness about the movies. However, there are many questions that must be answered and assumpitons that must be proven in regards to the report and why fewer people attended and in regards to the positive reviews in order for this conclusion to be sound.

First of all, there is very little information about this report and about why fewer people have been attending. Did the company increase the prices of the movies a year ago? Were there any other changes that occured a year ago that could deter people from coming to see movies such as economic hardships in the area or a new movie company in town? additionally, even if there were no obvious changes, is the company sure that the report is accurate? was the report based on a representative sample of information? if there was a change a year ago, that change instead of a lack of awareness could explain the reduction in people attending movies. therefore, all of these questions must be answered if one is to conclude that the public's lack of awareness is why they have stopped coming during the past year, and therefore that an increase in the advertising budget would increase attendance at movies.

additionally, there is very little information provided about the increase in positive reviews by movie reviewers. are the opinions of the movie reviewers the same as the opinions of the public or does the public prefer different kinds of movie? even if it's discovered through a survey that they have the same tastes, if the production company had reduced the amount of movies produced over all and focuses on produces just a few quality movies instead, this could explain having more positive reviews but fewers customers and would therefore refute the idea that the problem lies in the public's lack of awareness about the good quality movies. therefore, allocating more money to advertising would be a waste as it would not be addressing the actual underlying problem.

Futhermore, even if there were no changes a year ago, the report was accurate, and there was no reduction of movies, questions must be answered to verify the assumption that a lack of awareness is the reason people are not attending. this could be accomplished through a survey asking people if they are aware of super screen movies and of the positive reviews they have been recieving recently. this survey should also ask previous customers why they had not attended or had attended less in the last year. this survey, if it found that lack of knowledge was indeed the reason for a reduction in attendance, would significantly bolster the recommendation to increase funding to adversiting.

In conclusion, many questions must be answered in order to accurately and effectively evaluate the recommendation to increase spending to advertising. one must verify that there are no other changes that occured a year ago that detered people form coming, that the opinions of movie viewers are similar to the views of the public, and one must verify through empirical evidence such as a survey that there is a lack of knowledge in the public about these movies and that there are not other reasons why they are not attending. Only then can one accurately advise the increase of allocations to the advertising budget.