Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Does the formal education tend to restrain our mind and spirit rather than set them free? The writer contends so. I mostly agree with the author's contention because of the following reasons.

First of all, retrospective to the past, more than three hundred years ago, there were no formal education. Children of that periods used to wander freely in the nature and they were relatively much more happy than those of the children in twenty-first century. In the present context of the world, when a child is just two or three, parents send them to the educational intitutions, they rarely get time to play and grow up with nature. In this term, this formal education has restrained our minds and spirits rather than setting them free.

Second of all, today the educational intitutions are ubiquitous. Due to the prevalent intitutions, large number of people are able to take the formal educaton, however, this education has taken several years of human life time, causing people's limited outlook outside the formal education. People are not aware with the nature in a natural way, they simply study about nature in the books. However, just bookish education cannot provide the quality education. Due to the rife coursebook, people rarely have time to think freely. They have to focus in a particular area, which is important in job asepect, so it is causing to restraining the human minds and spirits.

Third of all, if a student choose the subject in which he or she has interest in, it might not hold water in such case. For supporting example, when a student choose any field according to his or her interest, it doesn't simply restrain his or her mind, but set them free. Nonetheless, choosing the interested area is mostly possible in college only. In lower school, whether they like or not, they must study the formal educational material, hence it might be the burdeon to the students. Consequently, it restrains our mind and spirit.

In sum, I mostly agree with the writer's claim that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free, however, it might not be the case as a whole.