Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author here states that a formal education stymies the minds of student's rather than setting them free and letting them wander. He/ She might be right to some extent, but I’d take an opposing stance and explain my position in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when the author mentions formal education, he hints out the methods like classroom teaching and use of educational books as a way of distributing knowledge to students. And that this means hinders the progress of student’s mind and acts as a restricting factor. What the author fails to understand is that such means were introduced so that teachers could track progress of their students and all students get the same treatment by the teacher in a defined space. Imagine, if formal teaching didn’t exist, how else would a teacher know which of his/her students is paying attention to the subject? When studying in a classroom, the students listen to the teacher with a focused mind and the setting doesn’t allow their minds to wander. But in the absence of a classroom, a student has various elements in his/her environment to get distracted. For example, if a teacher teaching biology took his/her classes in a biology lab, the students would not listen to the former much since all their attention would be diverted to the various elements and objects like skeletons, etc. present in the lab. This would not help them focus and in turn doesn’t build up their basics.

Likewise, a classroom setting places all the student in the same environment. This breeds for equality with all students. No student is preferred over another. No student is given any preferential treatment and similarly, no student is considered inferior to another. This instills a sense of equality in all students in that classroom and goes to show everyone is the same in front of a teacher. Such life skills are very important for a student’s overall development since they make a student’s future more fulfilling and successful.

Additionally, the author signals that formal education is not as good as practical experiments. And while this holds up good for a few cases, which I will be talking about in the next paragraph, this also comes with a fair share of negative baggage. Practical experiments can only be done when a student is aware of it’s concepts and working, otherwise the student fails to succeed in the experiment and doesn’t learn anything from it. For example, a student performing a chemistry experiment to find out a mass of a molecule in a compound will not know how to calculate it until and unless she/he is taught about the derivation of the formula for it in a classroom or through the means of book. The objective of a practical experiment is not to rot learn the formula but to understand it’s derivation and how’s and why’s of it.

Parallelly, the proponents of this argument would say that theoretical knowledge doesn’t help the student grow and practical experiments that are more life-like will help the student in progressing their knowledge more. They are not wrong but go a little extreme in making this statement. Theoretical knowledge combined with practical experiments will bolster a student’s knowledge bank. Theoretical or practical knowledge alone will only help one side of the education and as the saying goes ‘A little knowledge is a dangerous thing’. It will only further destroy the concepts of the student on the respective subject.

In essence, I would just like to say that the argument made goes a little too extreme. Aa balance of both formal education and practical experiments is what a student needs to flourish. Keeping the student devoid of formal education would be stemming his/her growth for the future. We should consider all aspects of an argument before making such a dramatic decision.