The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Public welfare like social securities, advanced communication system, health care etc. definitely represent how a country is superior and prosperous than others. On the other hand, other factors like an effective leaders, greatest artist and scientific advancement can also participate in achieving a country’s superiority and greatness. However, is it logical to take account of only general welfare to measure a nation’s greatness?

Social development cannot be achieve without the help of an effective leader. The people in power has the ability to guide a nation to prosperity. Scientist, artist, they all are the key elements of a nation’s innovation and culture. How a nation is technically advanced can only be determined by the country’s involvement in scientific research, constant development in technological advancement, medical advance etc. Cultural enrichment which indicates a nation’s artistic test also can be indicated by their artist’s achievement.

On the other hand, we cannot say a country is great if the citizens and people constantly live under deprivation and poor life style even though that country has a great scientific or cultural advancement. For example, North Korea, a country who has powerful weapon system. But it has established its major power by neglecting human rights. In such case, we can clearly see that, achievement of rulers and scientific research solely cannot be measured as nation’s greatness by denying peoples well-being.

Holistically, a country need to balance between their people’s welfare who are living in that society and their achievements in other sectors. But considering only the nations’ well-being for society to indicate prosperity and denying other factors is in my opinion, logically absurd.