The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There are many indicators of nation’s greatness; however, if I have to choose one of the indicator between the general welfare of a nation’s people and the achievement of its rulers, artists, or scientists, I will opt for the later. The reason is rulers, artists or scientists are the blessed among the lot. Their achievements are not considered their individual accomplishments, but the whole nation takes prides in them. How is this a measure of a nation’s greatness? Well, these are people from within the nation who are provided with the opportunity to do great things. The others were may be not provided with the same opportunities or they did not simply avail them when they were presented, whatever may be the case, the achievement of its rulers, artist and scientists shows that when provided with the resources, they have the ability to do great things.

One could very well argue that these are the individual accomplishments of these people who created their own resources, worked hard, availed opportunities and realized their dreams. But this is exactly why they are the indicators of their nation’s greatness. Because they are the subsets of the whole set comprising of people which makes up a nation. Their achievement tells us that how great a nation they are. They tell us the nation’s capabilities, abilities, strengths and weaknesses. They tell us of what greatness is this nation capable. It sets goal to achieve higher objectives.

Moreover, one might also argue and draw a comparison between the greatness of two nations, one which has well integrated social structure, whose people are living a proper life or the nation whose people live a life of deprivation with poor health care system, failing sanitary conditions, egregious security situation with a handful of artists and scientists who have made a name for themselves in the world. There is no doubt that a nation who provides its citizens with equal opportunities, takes care of human rights is great, however, that does not mean that the other nation is not great. The handful of scientists and artists indicate that the greatness is very much achievable and set the practical example of how it could be done.

In conclusion, greatness of a nation depends on its people, each and every one of them. And if one is looking for a measure of greatness of a nation, then the achievements of its people, how small in quantity they might be, is the true representation of the potential of its people and which cannot be ignored.