The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

Welfare of a nation depends upon many factors. The above topic is debatable as some believe that citizens' welfare is not an important aspect whereas, others' believe that condition of people decides the eminence of the nation. I agree with the latter. There are certain reasons to it which I am going to explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, if people of a nation are happy and satisfied than only the country can progress. I would like to explain this with help of an example. There are two countries Switzerland and Myanmar. Switzerland has free education and provide good health care to the populace. These are basic human rights which make people contented. Thus, the country is peaceful and making progress. While Myanmar does not provide basic human rights. So, the public are not happy which in turn is the result that the country is under developed.

Besides this, there is one more example to substantiate my point. India is achieving success in the field of science such as the successful Mars mission or the possession of nuclear bombs etc. However, a significant portion of population still falls below the poverty line and this is a prime issue which needs to be addressed. My point here is that citizens of a nation should be given standard living which is their human right then only the country can progress.

Lastly, this cannot be denied that achievements of artists or scientist contributes in the greatness of the nation it can be said that contribution of them and welfare of people are interrelated. There are rulers who are famous because during their reign people had better standard of living thus, it can be said that both things are connected to each other.

In conclusion, I would like reiterate my point that people of a nation can be compared to the atoms of an element. A nation is an element and its building blocks are atoms that is its citizens.