The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

The director of the student housing at Buckingham College suggested that new hostels should be build in order to solve the future problem of accommodation of students and also it will help to increase the percentage of student enrollment. At first glance the letter seems to be convincing but there are many loopholes in it.

Firstly, the author is speaking about increase in number of student admissions from future perspective. He is talking about next 50 years looking at the present trends of the enrollments. But there is no surety that the current trend will continue for next decades. There is possibility that some other college will gain more reputation in the near future and thus, students' preference may change about the Buckingham College. Hence, the college may not be able to recover the expenses that it will spend on the construction of hostels.

Secondly, the writer is talking about current rise in the apartment rents and thereby, concluding that students may not prefer them as a choice of residence. Maybe the rent will get stabilize or drop down in the future due to certain market reasons. There are chances that in future students may choose apartments over dormitories due to less rent. Moreover, many students like to live off-campus as there is freedom and no restrictions. Thus, plan of making more dormitories need to be given more cogitative thought.

Lastly, students prefer colleges which provide good education and campus recruitment. Attractive dormitories is not an important factor that is considered while making decision regarding college admission. Additionally, there is possibility that many colleges in the city have more attractive campus-housing. So students who make their choice by keeping in mind hostel of college will prefer those colleges over Buckingham College.

To sum up, the argument is not cogent with many perspective. To bolster the argument, the author needs to corroborate future trend of enrollment, provide detailed information on off-campus rents, and attest the soundness of the conclusion.