In my opinion, I'm partially agree with the point that concerning welfare of nation's people as a indication of that nation's greatness. Because different people have their own attitude to measured a great countires, it hard to say a county with high welfare of nation's people would be better.

As we all know, welfare would be a basic insurance of people living. It also could be regarded as the mission of the governments. Nevertheless, the government's income, which would be generally from tax or trading with other countires, is the primarily resources of the welfare. If a country have a enough economical income, the govenrmnt would have enough strength to improve the welfare standard. Thus, most of the people argue that a country with high welfare would be greatness. It is not wrong, but it has condition.

Surly, welfare could be regarded as a standard of a country's greatness. For example, Australia have a considerable high welfare that attract many people to immigrate to that country. However, if a country pursue a sustainable improvement, the government have to increase the fund committemnt in science research, industry, entertainment, etc. Because these seemed abtruse research may have offered a new idea of governance, a new technology that used in some appliances so that people could feel the convenience of daily life. These interesting entertainment productions, such as movie, songs, or something else, may lead a new chic that enriching people's cultural life. If the whole world was facing some economics crisis or natural catastrophe, some country which is strong in technology or science would be refreshed quickly. Therefore, these countries would not experience a substaintial decrease in national people living standard. Focusing on these elements, the country will have steady development. And the welfare, generally, would also be increased as the country's developemnt in all aspects.

All in all, if a country have persuit of development, the government have to focus on both welfare and science and technology.