Government funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects.

The statement links between the human approach to advance sciectific endeavours and our responsibilities towards our fellow humans. Looking over the timeline of human existence our zeal to understand our lives and looking for explanations directly influences our scientific curiosity. Building on this reasoning, centuries ago humans looked towards the stars to understand their meaning and scientific endeavours were built towards explaining the existence of space and their meaning. This curiosity has led to many inventions such as highly efficient combustion engines, accurate imaging that can pierce through space debris, commincation systems that would be in-comprehensible to population just a century back. We live in a economy that revolved under monetary ideolog, as a person building this scientific curiosity to technologies that are an integral part of a layman’s life is next to impossible. This scientific curiosity backed by funds from a government body leads to technologies that play an important part in the future.

Over the century we can have a panoramic view of how tcehnologies have changed the way people are leading their lives from PDAs that provide an advance tecle-commnication service to the high end imagery devices that is helping industries track and cut cost off availing resources. All these innovations that has helped people lives are derived from purely scientific endeavors. For example satellites that use technologies like high end imagery can predict disasters like floods and storms , this information can be used to help reduce the devastation caused to thousands of people. This scientific innovation is not possible to accomplish just by a scientist with curiosity to find this solution, it is the government’s responsibility to fund the projects that have an implication and benefits towards a whole collective of people.

We can also take an example from technologies evolving from pure scientific endeavors such as hydroponics where people are working towards preserving water as well as boosting agricultural produce. Although this seems like a purely scientific, its implications and the information derived from it will be used towards curbing food and water shortage. This task cannot be carried out without funding from government bodies.

The statement does strike an argument that many endeavors looking for an explanation towards in-comprehensible things such as black holes, mars expedition, moon exploration missions do not serve as much purpose as humanitarian projects which help people live lives with basic amenities such as food, water and shelter. We cannot face away from the fact that these endeavors taken to understand the universe around us is to utilize the information ultimately to collectively benefit people. The hard fact is that this endevaors take a lot of time to be fruitful and even though presently seem to be to content ones scientific curiosity , will finally help better people life as a collective. As we can observe this from the introduction of this essay, the benefits will be evident in the upcoming centuries.

Hence, with all this evidenceand examples, as scientific endeavors are ultimately to ameliorate peoples everyday lives , their importance cant be reduced for as they too serve the goal of helping people as much as the humanitarian projects. Government should not reduce the funding for pure scientific projects as a reason to direct them towards humanitarian science projects.