Government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Government officials are, in principle, representatives that are elected by the public. Thus, it is their utmost duty to serve the people and the country for its well being. Still, there may be disputes in deciding whether their actions should be done through individual contemplation or wholly on behalf of the public’s interest. This essay will provide several certain situations and contexts where politicians and officials are required to behave either by one’s own judgement or by the people’s opinion.

Firstly, in general circumstances, political figures need to carry out the will of the people especially when considering the elements of basic needs and living conditions. The most well known example is the New Deal Policy launched by F.D. Roosevelt. This policy came out solely to alleviate the economic hardship and resolve unemployment in terms of enhancing the deteriorated quality of life due to the financial recession that happened in the late 1920s. That is, it can be said that the main drive force for implementing certain policies can be easily discerned by putting the public’s interest into priority. As nations can be prosperous only through a stabilized public health and social order, the government shall be in standby position in terms of serving the basic needs and interests of their people.

However, when looking into certain situations such as a national emergency or moments when collective violence and atrocity is prevalent, government officials ought to be contemplative and may even dare to take a choice that might go against the public’s will. For example, faced by the worldwide spread of Covid 19, many governmental officials are dealing with the difficulty in persuading their citizens to take vaccines and wearing proper masks. It has become controversial whether these collective behaviors are safe enough and many people have started to show anxiety and precariousness. Even in some regions, protests and riots have happened in terms of gainsaying the governmental proposal. Yet, however, if the government had postponed the vaccination, then there is a strong likelihood that the whole world might fall into more danger.

Similarly, when reminding of the history of Nazi regime and several other fascist communities, the governmental officials have the duty not only to take a break and ponder on the seriousness of the potential violence against other nations or groups of people, but also to dare to act against the public. It is widely known that the Holocaust had happened just because nobody paused the implementation even though there were some people who felt contrite in devastating the basis of human dignity. Thus, it is important for governments to have enough discernment in taking any action.

Thus, the conclusion now stands that the government has to have its discernment in choosing whether it is more proper to act as a servant of the public or it is rather wiser not to follow the enthusiasm or radical thoughts of the people. In this regard, we may have to have wary vigilance in evaluating the behaviors and actions of the political figures.