Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

When personal judgement and public's common will is taken in question, the choice of one becomes rather equivocal, perplexing the person in-charge for making such decisions. Though I understand that taking public's interest should be taken in consideration while making rule, or decision, the repercussions of whoic are later faced by the general public, I believe having personal jidgement rather than follwing public bias blindly is necessary for a sucessful government official. Such views are further elaborated in the impending paragraphs.

It is general knowledge that human beings are often amenable to spurious beliefs and sophistry of indivisuals with personal intersest at heard, such that a government official shout not follow the demands of the indivisual, to whom he is appointed to serve with disinterestedness, but shouhd use his own proper judgement while making the decisions. Often times, it can be seen that people with intent of personal gains have spread a mass hysterial, leading a public to demand for projects that in the end, aids these people less than the massive businesses spreading and evoking these issues. The "alleged" rumours spread by Amazon inc. to cut down forest and set up a cardboard manufacturing plan, in order to uplift the dire poverty of Michigan perfectly exemlifies how public can be misled to thinking, and even fighting, such "issues". In such times, a government workers need to take matters into his own hands, than making decisions against his judgement, in the name of placating the public.

Additionally, a country,or state has only a limited amount of annual budget, which is to be spent wisely for the government to run smoothly. Thus a government worker must be vigilant and use his judgement properly in whet concers are to be followed through, and what are to be put aside for future.The tenure of a late B.P. Koirala, a famous Nepali Politicial and president of the 90's, can be taken as a cautionary tales to examplify this issue. A beneficient and kind person at heart, Mr. Koirala used to listend to every public concerns tat knocked through his door, and tried to recrify the issues wiythou any proper personal judgement. In doing so, he spend nearly 80% of the national budget in about half a year into his tenure, spending it on minor issues raised by the public. Then followed was the worse economic catastrope, which Nepal everfaced, making this debacle the talk of the time. This shows how serving the public with open hearts is often not feasible, even logical, so a personal judgement isa necessity in beter mobilizing the resources, else such economic debacle is bound to happen.

Meanwhile, a single person's understanding to an issue is often misleading, so following own's judgements does good in some scenerios, but the perspectives of the general populations must be taken into consideration by a public servent, as sometimes the his or her own judgement may falter in making such decision. So taking public concerns in perspective is nontheless necessary.

Taking everything in retrospect, a successful government officials characterstic is his proper judgement at the time of adversity, which he must utilize in terms of a greater perspective, but he/she in the process of making teh decisions for the public must also consider the public concerns. Then only can better decisions can be made.