Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carrying out the will of the people whom they serve.

It is an unshakable principle in a democratic society that sovereignty lies in the will of people. Nevertheless, the principle does not necessarily mean people directly carry out their will through their government. Stockholders does not interfere manager’s specific work during the operation of company. Coaches must act on there own expertise instead of fans’ advice. Government officials, as well, should rely on their own judgement first, rather than unquestioningly obey the will of the people.

Firstly, the true meaning of public election is to find the judgement we trust. If we do not let the officials make use of their own judgement, the appointment would be useless. To require politicians strictly work according to what most people think would put too much limitation on them. Sometimes, leaders need to do what is not populous but necessary. Franklin Roosevelt would never save America from fear through his disputable New Deal, if he did not dare to challenge the cliché of public options. Therefore, folks should leave enough room for their governmental officials to utilize their talent, as long as they work within the scope of law.

Secondly, though unquestioningly fulfilling peoples’ will seems a set of fancy words, it is impossible to put the idea into practice since people’s will is often vague for decision making. Media and researchers have tried to predict the results of election for decades. Unfortunately, no polls or models of social science can be truly reliable in measure folks’ preference. Besides, most people, not like professional politician, do not follow the political issues all the time. Sometime, they just respond with their instinct rather than thoughtful research, which makes public opinion far more changeable. Therefore, if governmental officials stick to people’s opinion as required, they will go stray and government will be inefficient. This is almost anarchy rather democracy.

Admittedly, politicians should respect people’s will, and of course, make public utility as their ultimate goa of career. A bona fide democratic government put people’s interest first but also empower their officials through basic trust. To provide governmental officials with rights to make their own decisions does not mean they would violate all citizens’ will or trade public interest. We write laws to circumscribe ambition and use free media to put pressure on politics. That is enough for preventing the bad. What we should focus on is whether we can elect those able to fulfill our will in the office. To behave like pushy parents is not appropriate for the public in a mature democratic society.

In conclusion, a government of the people, by the people and for the people does not mean a government directly run by people. Governmental officials should never lose their independent thinking and unquestioningly obey public opinions.