Scientists and other researchers should focus their research that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Science and technology is the corner stone of modern life. Scientists and researchers have totally changed our world through innovation. Nevertheless, the results can not be selected as criteria. The reversed logic, that scientists and other researchers should concentrate their effort on research benefiting the great number of people, is biased and unreasonable.

Firstly, science has its own law of development, no matter how much value of the research to most people. Especially in theoretical sciences, an improvement or extension of an equation might be no use to the interest of the greatest number of people, but it is meaningful for the field to complete its logic. Sometimes, raising the precision of an instrument seems no difference for the public, but it is important for the researchers to diminish the error. Those parts of research, which seems trivial to the greatest number of people, sometimes need scientists to contribute their life-long effort to solve.

Secondly, it is impossible to precisely predict the value of research. The research of Mendel was recognized decades later for its value to reveal the secret of inheritance. Turing machine was just a simple model, but the idea behind it opened an era of computer science. For many greatest discoveries, people at their time were often unable to truly understand the value of the research. Sometimes, it is even difficult to judge whether it is beneficial or not. For example, people initially studied opium for medical use to diminish pain. On the contrary, the issue of drug abuse create much more pain, not to mention it even evoked wars in human history. Therefore, the great uncertainty of scientific research determines that the standard of benefits to most people is basically invalid.

Admittedly, the utility of greatest number of people should be a top priority in a society. The topics related to our biggest concerns should get enough support. Therefore, it is indisputable for government to lean more on those topics financially. However, unlike many occupations, research needs creativity and interest as its fuel. As for scientists and researchers, the free will in study is their key component to conduct successful research. Unless violating laws or research ethnics, researchers should put their research interest above any other consideration. Otherwise, the quality control standard of calculating benefits would only transform a creative scientific community into a dull assembly line.

In conclusion, we should encourage scientists and researchers to solve the troubles we have. Meanwhile, we should respect the own nature of science and scholars’ research interest. Their free will can not be limited, except by law and research ethic. Government and industry should more actively take the responsibility to turn knowledge into productivity, instead of putting the pressure on scientists and researchers.