Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Guided by the protocols and procedures of the government, it is the duty of the government officials to work for the people and solve their problems. In most cases, there is always a finite procedure for working and it does not provide much freedom to either use own judgement or listen to people’s will. However, the life of people and the situation prevalent is ever chancing and almost every government official will encounter the situation beyond the jurisdiction of the rule book. While the government officials who have worked for the people and served them are always well cherished by the public it is not necessary that demands of the public might always be incoherent with the procedure and protocols developed by the nation according to which the officials are required to function. Hence, I personally believe, government officials should neither rely unquestioningly in their judgement nor should they blindly follow people rather weigh down the judiciousness of both and take decision.

The government officials are the bridge between the needs of people and provision of the government. It is the duty of a government to provide service allocated by the government to the people, however a responsible government should also communicate the need of the people. For e.g. the unmarried parents of Nepal are not recognized by the law of Nepal and the government officials turn them down and deny the children’s birth certificate and it is not under the jurisdiction of the officials to either go through the will of people or provide them certificate on their own, however a responsible government official must be able to communicate such cases to the government in order to incorporate in the law. In lack of such effectiveness, those children still suffer in Nepal growing up to fight for the citizenship and identity.

The government officials, sometime need to address the situation of emergency and calamities and in such instance they might be required to take strict actions going beyond the will of the people. For instance, during COVID-19, many nations underwent lockdown and were forced to keep people isolated but many people were censuring the government and alleging them of the deprivation of basic human rights. The another example in support of the above mentioned statement could be the recent action taken by Balen Shah, the Mayor of Kathmandu, Nepal for removing the street vendors and illegal construction of Kathmandu Metropolitan. The mayor Shah had to face severe criticism for depriving the poor street vendors and causing loss to the hard-earned property of public, nonetheless, every citizen, now, praise him for his audacious action that led to the clean city and decrease in traffic which has facilitated easy passage for pedestrian as well as 15minute faster service of the ambulance.

In spite of that if the government officials persistently work against the will of the people, the people might be indignant and this might even lead to dreadful consequences. Recently, two important events have occurred in my country that can justify the assertion. First, the denial of the citizenship-by-decent to the people who are born through Nepali mother and foreign father was time and again chastised by the people and brought to government, yet the delayed in action and continuous rejection by president forced the citizenshipless people to take their case to the street. Next, is the case of a citizen who had time and again tried various attempt to get to the government official for ease of business in Nepal, the convoluted market structure had brought him to the state of bankruptcy, committed suicide by burning himself alive in front of parliament to draw the attention of government to his demands.

Summing up, the government officials have a protocol to follow to carry out their duty, however it is people who make the system not the system that makes the people so a government official should judiciously weigh down all the consequences before functioning and should be efficient enough to take the problem, if any, to the government and concerned authority to solve the issues of the public. The judicious and harmonious relationship between the government officials, government and people is necessary to establish peace and progress a nation.