Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A government was formed to basically manage, discuss the problems of and elevate the people of the nation. The prompt suggests that the government officials should have a judgement of their own instead of directly acting following what the people tell. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the promt for 3 reasons.

Firstly, the area where a government official commands over has a diverse audience to be catered to. There is a possibility of difficult situations arise in such an environment. To illustrate this, consider several communities in a society and due to some unwanted circumstances the communities become bitter rivals to each other. In such a scenario, some people might expect the government official to act on their side and the others would want the official's verdicts on their side. For such convoluted situations, it is better for the government official to have a judgement of his own to mitigate further exacerbation of the matter at hand.

Secondly, A government official is elected by the people. Thus emphasizing that the official should be acting on their terms. It is because of the people the official gains the power to govern them. If the government official fails to do so, he loses the trust of the people he serves. For instance, a majority of people in the society have been complaining about the traffic on the main road for a very long time to the government official. The people have also come up with a plan to mitigate this traffic. But here, the official instead of listing and acting according to the people, takes his own jugdement which results in a gaffe, disappoints the electing majority and thus results in losing faith and trust.

Finally, to the official's benefit, he must look out for satisfying majority of people as possible. People at the ground-level are more exposed to the daily inconveniences. These people making known the issues faced by them and the official gets to it without a thought will help in building a strong society. For example, there a mishandling of garbage, the people want the official to make strict rules for this. Upon laying the strict rules. The official is nationwide appreciated for the good doing in the society.

This is a complicated prompt to strongly assert in one direction. There is are too many expectations and emotions involved in this. Thus, the government official should pragmatically able to judge a situation and according to that make a choice, that is to take their own judgement or act without question according to the people he serves.