Government should offer college and university education free of charge to all students

Education is not only knowledge, but the application of knowledge to succeed in life. There have been many innovative changes in recent years to provide all-round education to students globally. The prompt suggests that government should provide a completely funded college and university education to all students. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the prompt for the following reasons.

To begin with, not every college or university is government funded, some of them are private institutes that work on students fees. The infrastructure provided to students, the fees provided to faculty, and other management costs come from the revenue generated by student fees. Thus, if the government made this education free of charge then it would be difficult for universities to pay their faculties and invest in the infrastructure. This would result in poor quality infrastructure for students and professors working on minimal wages. For instance, in a country like India where the population is in the billions and growing, it’s difficult to provide free education for every single student in college or university. It would result in a lack of funds for the country’s other operations like military, healthcare, and transport.

There is a popular saying “Anything that is free has no value”. People might question the quality of education, and may even send their children to study abroad while paying in lump sums. There would be only a handful of students who actually might benefit from the ‘free education scheme’ of the government. In contrast, if parents pay for the education of their children then they might be even more obligated to study hard and value the education they receive.

Government does have schemes that actually provide scholarships and quotas for the needy. Most students who do not afford education, do get benefitted from these schemes. For instance, in India there are various scholarships for students in economically weaker sections like Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam Scholarship, Shiksha Abhiyan Scholarship and many more. Students can apply for these scholarships, provide valid proofs and can be funded their college and univeristiy education. Government of India also has reservations for economically weaker sections like Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribes, Other Backward Caste, which helps students from these backgrounds secure a place in reputed and top universities in India.

In conclusion, it is not imperative that the government provide free education to each and every student in colleges and universities, but the government should definitely have schemes and scholarships for those who really need it. This would give each individual a chance to gain education and knowledge and prosper in his/her life and career.