Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order
to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and
generated.
This is a very sensitive issue and it is difficult for us to decide the role of governments. There are
many issues in this statement that need to be addressed. The first question is whether the actual
culture and traditions is in big cities or small towns and villages. The second thing is that
whether it is really a government's duty to subsidize cultural traditions. The author claims that
governments should ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need to
preserve the nation's cultural traditions. However, preserving cultures should not be the single
reason to develop major cities. This is not only for preservation of nation's culture but also for
the reason of developing the whole society.
There is no doubt that major cities are the principal force when constructing a healthy country
and their development directly reflects the development of the country. Major cities primarily
generate a nation's cultural traditions and makes it famous in the world. However, it is actually
towns and villages where cultural traditions originate and are preserved and any government that
pays attention to its cultural traditions should neither neglect nor ignore those places. Hence,
these small places should receive equal if not more financial support than major cities. The
culture and tradition maintained in these places might be much more integrated and purer than in
counterpart cities. Therefore, in order to protect their cultural traditions, governments should
support tradition-based towns and villages rather than invest a lot to the cities, which have little
traditional foundation.
If we take the example of Hong Kong, it used to be a small fishing village 150 years ago. After it
became the colony of the Great Britain, Hong Kong has developed gradually and has established
as a financial center in Asia. Therefore, from its present, nobody can assert that Chinese cultural
traditions are generated in Hong Kong. Hong Kong developed completely according to the style
of the capitalism country, during the reign of Britain, although the majority of residents were
Chinese, who are known for preserving their culture and traditions. The Chinese culture is not
preserved in Hong Kong, hence there is no point in providing financial support to Hong Kong
just for the culture's sake. However, as it is a major financial and shopping hub, it attracts people
from all over the world and it is a great source of revenue for the government. Hence, the
government of China has to patronize it to maintain its importance.
However, while major cities are the resource of one country's culture, the major part of
population in many countries lives in villages. In cities, most people are doing salary-based jobs
and in villages, most of the people are farmers. The government of a country has to take care ofboth the sides to keep balance in society. To construct major cities, the rural places should not be
ignored.
The cultural traditions are the backbone of a nation and they should be preserved. However,
major cities and rural areas should get equal attention from the governments.