Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials are the individuals whose primary role is to establish relationship between public and government, and implement the laws, policies promulgated or sanctioned by the government. The author claims that government official should solely make their judgement rather than doing according to the demand of people . I mostly agree with the claim, however, i do concede that there are some cases in which government officials should rely on the public will.

First of all, government officials are people who are, in most of the cases, motivated to serve their country at any cost. They will carry out any action that is in the benefit of nation and ultimately the people of nation. Government officials are generally highly educated, experienced, adept at making right decision at right time, unswerving and bold. For instance, Kulman Ghising, former managing director of electricity board of Nepal had eradicated the issue of loadshedding in his short tenure. He just followed his principles and neglected the opinions and criticisms of other people, ultimately, he did in just two years, what other officials could not. Has he listened to the interests of people they serve, there would be chances that they ask to do something on their favor. Had this been the case, would the problem of electricity be eradicated?

Secondly, there are several situations in which public are mass motivated to get a particular work done by some so called influential people of the society. They encourage people to follow on their paths and hinder some positive changes. In scenarios like this, if a government official cannot rely on this decision then a blunder is of high possibility. For instance, while bidding a tender for highway project in Rajsthan, India, a contractor influenced local people and threatened the officials involved in bidding process. In that scenario, a government officer Vishal Ayer, took a stand and retaliated against that contractor. This stand by Mr. Ayer led to highway development in rajsthan in short period of time. Had the contract gone to the former contractor, the changes that can be observed now would not be possible .

Thirdly, in some cases where people are more accustomed or knowledgeble about particular subject matter, relying on those people is the best choice a government individual can make. For instance, while a government official should take decisions or make judgements pertaining to political conditions, it is in the best interest of him to take suggestion from some a individual slaked in politics. This reduces the chances of making errors on political grounds. Additionally, government officials are no omniscient they lack some of the traits needed for some peculiar conditions. These voids can be fulfilled by judiciously understanding people and garnering information pertaining to that subject matter.

In conclusion, the benefits offered by a government officials relying on their own judgements outweighs the benefits offered by carrying out the will of public. So, i mostly agree with the authors claim that government should rely on their own judgements rather than following the footsteps suggested by the public.