Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Different fields like business, politics, education, government etc. are driven by a individual or a group of individuals as per their plans and strategy during their tenure. Those individuals had devised their own sets of plans and strategies to lead a particular institution to sucess. The author claims that in any field the individual or a group of individuals leading the institution should step down after serving five years. And, in line of reasoning he delinates that the surest path to suceess for any enterprise is rejuvenating with a new leadership. I mostly diagree with this claim and reasoning. However, i do concede that in some cases the revitalization through new leadership can prove to be fruitful to particular enterprise.

First of all, a particular institution is working under the leadership of some group or individual person, and functioning as per the task done by executives. A particular institution has their own set of devised rules, regulations, plans and strategies. By following them in a serious manner, a institution reach upto their goals. For instance, Facebook, a leading social media platform, guided by Mark Zuckerberg is doing well till date. He has his own set of plans, strategies, and tactics, follwing them he has made the reputation of facebook as it has in present date. Working under a single leadership has been extremely sucessful in this case. Had the leadership been changed, would facebook still had same reputation?

Secondly, experience is a major factor that can lead a enterprise to the path of success. A experienced individual can drive a group of individual through various up and down remaining himself calm and aplomb during the entire process. For instance, a experienced businessman of Nepal, Binod Chaudhary, Managing Director of Chaudhary group of companies has been leading his company for long time. He has gained enough experience that can boost his ability to make correct decision in hard times which makes him successful every time he starts or take over any business. Insted of that, Had any inexperienced person faced similar difficulty, could that individual deal in a similar way?

Thirdly, time is not a static phenomenon, it changes and brings change in every thing. Time brings changes in every sector than human being can feel or perceive. Not more that a five years, world has skyrocketed in every sector. Profound changes can be observed in businesses, industry, technology, education, politics, government. People perceive in a completely different way than they used to five years ago. To cope with this changes and develop the enterprise in a way to lead to success, a new leadership that can revitalize a enterprise is must. For instance, few years ago, Nokia, a leading mobile phone company, which ruled global mobile phone marked went bankrupt. The sole reason behind that was the leadership which could not institute the necessary change in the enterprise. And, Nokia collapsed as it did not use android, a software preferred globally.

In conclusion, standing in line with the instances presented above, i mostly disagree with the claim and reasoning. Since, the probability of success offered by revitalization is outweighed by the probability of success that can be acheived by following experienced person.