The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the argument, concludes that assigning homework no more than twice a week will improve the grades of the students in Sanlee. In order to support his argument, the author provides evidences like the results of a survey comparison with the district of marlee, and number of assignments given to stuents. The author's argument is potentially valid, however, the author should provide other evidence to evaluate the argument properly.

First of all, the author assumes that the results obtained from the survey is the actual scenario. It is possible that the survey is not representative of the total population. Perhaps, the survey was done in haste and sampling was done as per the convenience of surveyor. The author should provide specific evidence like survey was carried out in a scientific way, the surveyed population was representative of the population, and the questions asked in the survey were completely relevant for the study. If author provides these evidences then the results of the survey are validated and the persuasiveness of the argument is improved. If author fails to do so, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the district of Sanlee and district of Marlee are comparable. It is possible that these different cities have different infrastructures for study purposes. It is possible that district of Sanlee is a indigenous community that have just started schools in their locality and students are beginning to gain formal knowledge. The author should provide specific evidences like the district of Sanlee and district of Merlee are similar in terms of infrastructures for study purposes, the teachers in both districts are equally qualified and teach students with equal adeptness, and the level of students education is similar. If author provides these specific evidences then the possibility for alternative explanation relating students performances are eliminated and the argument is buttressed.

Thirdly, the author erroneously attributes the lower grades of students to the greater number of assignments given to the students. It is possible that teacher do not teach students properly and just provide assignments that does not improve students capability. Perhaps the teachers give assignments that are not related to the students course work. It is possible that the teacher gives assignments but students fail to do those assignments. The author should provide the specific evidence that explicitly asserts that the assignments given to the students were germane to the students coursework, and students do all those assignments. If author provides these particular pieces of evidence then the persuasiveness of the argument is improved. If the author fails to provide these sets of evidences then there is enough room for alternative explanation that dramatically reduces the persuasiveness of the argument.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is not as convincing as it sounds. There are several flaws that ,if not substantiated, dramatically undermines the persuasiveness of the argument. The author should provide the specific evidences as mentioned above to support his argument so that the argument can be assessed properly. If author provides the evidences as mentioned above, the argument is strengthened and the space for alternative explanation is removed.