The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author , in the argument, concludes that in order to solve the problem of budget deficit and increase enrollments humana university should actively promote degree programs like those in omni. To support his argument the author provides evidences like increased number of students enrolled online in omni university, significant decrease in the expenditures of the dormitory etc. The author relies on several unwarranted assumptions ,if not substantiated, seriously undermines the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that last year was representative of the trend and the trend of increase will continue for long run. It is possible that last year was a mere fluke. Perhaps there was no cost for enrollment and no fees for enrollment in the online classes. It is also possible that the increased number of students enrolled are in secondary courses, not the main courses. The author also assumes that 50 percent increase is a significant increase in the number of students. It is possible that there were very few students in omni university, say 20, and the number of increased students is 10 which may not be a significant amount. If any of these case is true then the argument is seriously undermined.

Secondly, The author assumes that significant decrease from the prior years in the expenditure of the dormitory at the omni university is the effect of online degree programs. It is possible that dormitory at omni university are at dilapidated condition and students prefer to stay off campus. It is also possible that omni university charges exorbitant rate of fees foe dormitory, so students do not live in dormitory. It is also possible that there was construction going on previous years which raised the cost but now it may not be the case. If any of these case is valid then argument does not hold water.

Thirdly, the author assumes that number of admission at the humana university is stagnant for three years and cost for management is increasing, as a cumulative effect leading to budget deficit. It is also possible that the number of admission already exceeded limits and cannot admit more students than that. It is also possible that more number of students started staying in the dormitory which increased dormitory maintenance costs. If these are the cases then university can have more income than they previously collected. If any of these cases are true then argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is not as persuasive as it sounds. The author should substantiate his assumptions with bulk of evidence. If author fails to buttress his argument with further evidences the argument is seriously undermined.