Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Academic institutions like colleges and universities are holy places where students learn the basic principles of life, develop critical reasoning, and general understanding. They guide students' through the different courses which shape students' for the particular field they desire to pursue in their life. I mostly agree with the author's assertion that academic institutions should urge their faculty to spend time on the professional world pertaining to their course for the two reasons mentioned below. However, i do concede that in some cases requiring faculty to spend time outside the academic world can deteriorate the teaching-learning process.

First of all, in order to carry out a integrated research, an individual should be cognizant with the various fields associated with it. In other words, an academic personnel interested in carrying out a research on holistic subject matter like climate change should have thorough understanding of the industrial pollution, weather patters, melting of ice caps, total percentage of forests and multiple other subject matter. The same applies for the professors, and his experience working outside professional world can trigger him/her to carry out some novel research that can eventually prove to be boon for human society. For instance, one of my professor from my university, worked in a data firm where he was appointed as the data scientist. After his one year tenure as data scientist he was acquainted with plethora of knowledge germane to data science, which was beneficial to himself and and students he taught. This triggered using multiple kinds of models in our research projects, that was not the trend before he joined the data firm. Additionally, Working on some firms can help the faculty develop rapport with the companies and the academic institutions and they can come up with some agreements that can be beneficial for both. For instance, We students of BS Agriculture had chance to serve as the internship in Value chain development program, a sister project of United Nations Development Program. This internship was very fruitful for all the students in garnering the knowledge outside of our field.

Secondly, A involvement in the professional field pertaining to the courses professors teach will give a clearer picture of the practical use of the courses taught. So, the professors can modify their course curriculum as per the requirement for the actual field work. For instance, teaching a student of agriculture about some complex engineering just for the sake of course curriculum can not be productive. Rather, developing a course curriculum that focuses on the researches of agriculture can be beneficial to them. So, professors experience on the professional field can trigger to make about such changes.

However, in some cases when professor serves as the employee or does job in the field pertaining to his course he may lose interest about the contemporary research that may hinder the learning process of students. Furthermore, in some cases the faculty may be attracted with high salary and leave the job of faculty and join the firms. This can lead to the deterioration of the teaching quality by the outflow of good teachers from academic sector to some other sectors.

In a nutshell, there are several benefits offered by the faculty's involvement in the professions pertaining to the courses they teach which outweighs the disadvantages of requiring faculty to join the other professions. So, i mostly agree with the author's assertion that faculty should spend time working outside in the professions relevant to the courses taught by them.