The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The president and administrative staff of grove college, a private institution, recommends groove college to preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than a co-education. To support his recommendation the author provides evidences of the students responding to survey, survey of the alumnae, and the financial support provided by alumnae. The author's argument is potentially valid, however, the author should answers the three questions below to support and bolster his argument.

First of all, Was the survey conducted among the students' done by following scientific methodologies? It is possible that the survey was not done scientifically. Were the respondents above the age of 18? Perhaps, the respondents' were below 18 years of age and their answer may not be rendered credible for general understanding of the college. Were the students' surveyed not biased or prejudiced? It is possible that the answers provided by the students were prejudiced and had reservation for some questions. It is also possible that students were duressed to answer some questions as per the plan. Were the questions prepared in a scientific way? It is possible that the questionnaire was prepared haphazardly and questions pertaining to study were only one or two. If any of these are the case then argument does not hold water.

Secondly, Did all the alumnae participate in the survey? It is possible that only few of the alumnae participated in the survey and results are not appropriate. It is possible that the since alumnae are all females who studied in the same environment, they may not want change to that. Did the survey include alumnae from co-education colleges? If the survey included individuals from different kinds of colleges then that would provide us with lucid picture of the benefits and demerits of coeducation, and the decision could be taken with due consideration.

Thirdly, Were the alumnae who participated in the survey only source of financial support? It is possible that there are other alumnae who did not participate in the survey and are providing financial support to the college. Who are the major donors of the college? It is also possible that alumnae who answered in the favor of co-education are the major donors for the college. If any of the above mentioned is the case then argument is seriously undermined.

In a nutshell, the argument is not as persuasive as it sounds. The author should provide answers for all the questions addressed above to evaluate the argument properly because the answers to those questions, if are in support of the argument, can buttress the persuasiveness of the argument.