Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Do the government officials should rely on their own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve? The author contends so. I believe that government is a servant of its citizens, however, I strongly agree with the author's contention that the The government should rely on their own judgment while fulfilling the people's demand it serves because of the following two reasons.

To begin, the main task of the government is to make the society a better place, a good government should always be inclusive. Society contains various type of people with different religious prospectus, different financial condition, different spoken language and different color. When the government fulfills the demand of a particular group without it's own judgment, it may seriously harm other's fundamental rights. For instance, In Nepal, some Muslim group were demanding that they should be allowed to pray and play a big sound speaker in a public place, Nepali government haphazardly allowed them. Consequently, other people in the society irritated with the chaos made by Muslim people in the public place. It appropriated fundamental right of other common people, eventually government realized that and it cancelled it's decision. So,this example illustrates that, government should use their own judgment while fulfilling any people's will.

Further, society contains different type of people, if one demands that they should be allowed to marry more than one at the same time and if government fulfills such demands unquestioningly, it creates a great ethical question. For instance, in Nepal, some particular group were demanding that they should be allowed to have more than one wives at the same time. What happens if the government fulfills such specious will of the people? Certainly, it will rise a serious question about the task of the government. Hence, the government should use their own cerebral capacity while fulfilling the demands of the people they serve.

However, some people may argue that the task of the government is to fulfill the demand of the people, serve the people. I agree that the task of the government is to serve people, serve the people of all group, not only a particular group . So they should be inclusive, in order to be inclusive, they should make decisions that won't harm any other group's fundamental rights.