Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The role of government, conspicuously, is to ensure the smooth routine operation of the nation while forecasting the imminent perils and pitfalls. The assertion of choosing one over the other is not plausible and sensible. Even though there is commonly a tendency to divert out attention to those that might seem more emergent to be resolved, we shall distinguish ‘urgency’ from ‘importance’. To be, the effort made by governance, by all mean, require to simultaneously serve both of this interests as they are dependent on one another.

Inevitably, without the transition of today, there shall be no tomorrow. Thus, it is critical for legislators to attend to forthcoming issue that could bring alarming ramification to our economic, political or social welfare. Over the course of development, most governments have accelerated in bringing remedy to most breakdowns whether being natural calamity, political crisis, or economic depression. For instance, during the yearly flooding season in Vietnam, national endeavors would be concentrated on alleviating and recovering the damage to the victims. The global economic crisis, induced during the 90s, has coerced Hong Kong government to regulate the free flow market, which ensure a healthy financial playing field for economic growth. Also, the conspiracy of fraud involving Malaysia’s prime minister Najib has placed the issue at the frontier, urging the government to unravel to prevent social upheaval. As we know, the conviction of the public mass is once lost; it is lost forever.

In addition, for most political mechanism, greater support from the citizens is equivalent to a higher probability for a government to be re-elected. To general public, who is less likely attentive about the long-term strategies, their foresights would not go beyond what is currently magnified by mass media. Purely from a public relation perspective, politicians are encouraged to tackle issue that is under the spotlight. We could reference to most of the election schemes, conspicuously, contestants explicitly emphasize on their excelling ability in decipher most of the heating topics instead of addressing long term planning due to the ‘recency effect’. It might impose a negative connotation by using such imposition to win vote. However, what matters is that they live up to their promise to lead the nation ahead and triumph the adversity.

Nonetheless, it is unwise to omit the significance of long-term risk assessment and opts for only short-sighted victories. It would not make possible for a country to grow without reserving capacity to visualize and scrutinize what’s beyond the current context. Singapore would not have grown into a vivid monarch of economy, art and technology without the meticulous planning of its legendary former leader Li Guang Yao. So particularly, he has sketched out the shortcoming of its scarce land capacity, the potential risk of population expansion, the competitive edge of skillful human resource, etc. It is his vision to symmetrically scale all futuristic hazards instead of targeting temporal goals as they arise. The acceleration of the nation has validated the remarkable success of his prognosis for remote future.

In summary, from a political point of view, there is high proportion that government would gain higher pedestal with short-term ‘hit and run’ strategy. However, the real growth of a nation requires a long-term vigilant plan and risk forecast