Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

What the government should focus on and how to improvement the work efficiency of government has always been the limelight. Due to the heavy work of government, some recommend that government should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. Through scrutiny on this issue, I judge this recommendation to be quite valuable and feasible because it is advantageous in most circumstances, even though in some circumstances it dose have some disadvantages.

The most direct advantage the recommendation might bring is it would solve the problems the people are facing directly. Several big disasters happened in 2008 in China might be the good examples. At the beginning of that year, a heavy snow invaded the southern part of China. Many important facilities including the railway and the cables were frozen. Also, there was another disaster happened in May. A strong earthquake attacked Sichuan province, with a great number of buildings falling down and numerous people losing their lives. Just at the very point, our government focus almost all their attention in solving these immediate problems, which consequently made people's life get well as soon as possible.

Another benefit the recommendation might bring is the quicker development of the city, province or the country. Every student in China has learned an important affair in their history books. That is the famous policy called the reform and opening-up in 1978. Actually at that time, people in China face too many serious problems, such as culture restriction and low college admission rate. While, low economic development is the most emergent one. As a result, the reform and opening-up policy put economic development at the first place. And everyone in China has witnessed the rapid development of our country during the past 40 years. Owing to the solving of low rate of economic development, people in China are living a better life and believe in their government much more than before.

However, that is not to say that the government do not need to figure out the anticipated problems of the future. Actually, the government could get stuck in some big troubles if some anticipated problems is not properly solved. Admittedly, 40 years rapid economic development in China have brought serious environmental problems, which might not be that emergent but might become serious and break out one day. Knowing the problems of the recommendation does not damage its value. On the contrary, the government could adapt some measures to enhance its performance. For example, in order to solve the environmental problems, the government should encourage the development of the environmental-friendly industry and carry out some policies to protect the environment. In this way, the problematic side of the recommendation could be reduced to the least while the beneficial side could work better.

To sum up, the recommendation could bring desirable positive results so it deserves implementing. For better result, we should realize the disadvantages the recommendation might have and adopt relevant measures to overcome them.