The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author claims that our high school teachers should assign homework no more than twice a week. At the first glance, the argument seems plausible to some extent. While with detailed analysis, readers could identify some logical fallacies that can undermine the original chain of reasoning in this argument.

The first evidence that the author needs to provide is that high school teachers in our school could refer to the best practice of those in Marlee. Apparently, the author does not consider that there should exist great differences between the two schools, and such different might weaken the analogy of the two schools. Chances are very good that the school management, education quality and the capacity of students might be quite different in two schools. As a result, the author cannot simply propose that teachers in our schools should copy the successful experience in district of Marlee.

The second evidence that the author needs to provide is that our students' time reduced from frequent homework can be paid for individual assignment or other useful extracurricular activities. In my opinion, it is very likely that students may put much time on computer game or TV shows rather than individual assignment if they do not need to finish daily homework. In other words, declined homework might not lead to increased individual assignments. Thus, the statement that students are likely to have more time to concentrate on individual assignments could not hold water.

The third evidence that the author needs to provide is that Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school is due to less frequent homework. Clearly, other reasons also exist to lead to the mentioned enhancement. First and foremost, teachers in Marlee might have higher degrees or more education experience. In addition, the average scores of school admission exam of Marlee students could be much higher than those of students in Sanlee. Last, school management in Marlee may be much more effective. All the possible reasons listed above could also lead to better grades.

To sum up, the argument is not persuasive enough due to the shortage of specific evidence. Before making the final conclusion, the author should conduct detailed survey on the specific advantages and disadvantages of less homework to better evaluate the recommendation.