The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The impact of modern lifestyle has been the emerging topic in many daily columns, whether being technology has deteriorated our creativity or social skills have been impaired by excessive machine interaction. Despite all these controversial denunciation, I believe the luxuries and conveniences are the motivations for many innovations, which nourish us into strong and independent thinkers. These two concepts, being luxuries and conveniences, should be discussed separately as their affluence is indubitably disparate.

As our society and economy is advancing, we become more in contact with luxuries, which are commonly used as indicators for our status. Given such high pedestal of ‘luxuries’ that majority of us behold, people are inclined to thrive for these high-value items either to prove themselves or to feel secured. Many of us would work hard and put all effort into accelerating our career so that one day we could afford these luxuries, which would otherwise not make possible. This is also the reason why professional with high regards are always favorable in developing countries as we look forward to climbing up the social ladder. Thus, had it not for the crave and desire towards luxuries, most people would not have a purpose to grow.

Being an advocate for convenience myself, I seize a lot of benefits of having convenience in life such as time saving and options opted. Despite our awareness, convenience is present and appreciated from our daily activities such as riding a speed train, enjoying convenient packaged foods, or using technology at work, etc. Many mundane tasks are now simplified or alleviated so that we could divert our energy in hobbies and spiritual activities, which are an essential part to build a strong and independent inner self. Instead of spending time on cooking, convenience granted us time to go for meditation, do yoga, read a book, learn a new language or engage in philanthropic events. Thus, the value that convenient options brought is tremendous.

However, some might argue that luxuries and convenience deprived us from the ability to develop ourselves in to strong and independent individuals as it turned us into materialistic and insensitive souls. I concede that the abusive attachment to convenience would sometimes blind us from the true value of life. Common phenomenon observed is that over-reliance on digital map for direction is likely to deteriorate our capability to guide ourselves. However, as the complexity of our infrastructure and transportation system, memorizing all the paths and allies might not be the best use of our time.

In conclusion, as I cogently argue above, the crave for luxuries motivate us professionally while convenience grants us time to have an options in life.