Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

During the course of learning, there are different learning objectives expected to be achieved by students. Thus, it is presumptuous for the author to claim the role of high grades are equal for all level of learning. From my perspective, when students are either at their infancy or advanced stage of learning, learning quality tends to be deteriorated by competition for high grades. On the contrary, for secondary students, the proposition makes complete sense by acting as a stimulant for learning.

I accede that if high grades take precedence over other learning objectives, it would diminish the learning desire of young children. As the objective for kindergarten or primary school is to inspire curiosity and train cognitive skills, grading could be counterproductive as it introduces unnecessary competition and pressure. Primarily, small kids are incapable to understand the true meaning of grading, thus, implementing a strict grading model is merely a waste of energy. Looking at the issue through a negative lance, young kids are more likely to suffer from the fear of engaging into class activities as bad marks are correlated with bad performance or foolishness. In long run, it inclines to tarnish the confidence and interest in learning of these vulnerable souls.

For students in their secondary education, it requires a barometer to keep students motivating and focus on their study. Grading system has been proved to be an effective mean in improving the quality of learning rather than diminishing it. When study becomes more knowledge-based, it requires higher span of attention from student to achieve efficiency in their learning. The nature of grading at this stage would act as catalyst to ignite the innate persona of human being, competitiveness. With the attempt to prove themselves to friends and family, Students would thrive for higher grades. Through this process of acquiring knowledge, not only does it enhance students’ knowledge database but as well aid the discovery of individual desire and aptitude. For instance, as students yearn for higher placement on the grading list, they would understand what they are truly good at and what they are really interested to explore indepthly.

When students are mature enough to be autonomous in their learning, such as those in college level or above, achieving high grades could impose unnecessary pressure hindering the flexibility for students to explore knowledge in their own will. Asides from those who aim to become an erudite or scholars in a particular field, the learning mission of college graduates should be more inclined towards the real life application of knowledge, which helps make them real professionals in the field. As most grading method is associated with a highly structural curriculum, it tends to generate more ennui than efficiency. For instance, if a student is good at memorizing information rather than translating those data into actionable strategy or innovative application, on general, we would not consider his study effective. Thus, student’s creativity and critical thinking skill would be constrained by orthodox grading systems.

In conclusion, depending on the nature of learning at different level of education, competition for high grades has its own merits and shortcoming. The strategy yields optimal result if and only if grading could act as motivation propelling the students forward. Or else, it would diminish the learning quality as a whole.