Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue of whether government should prioritize immediate problems over anticipated problems of the future has long been debated.

Before taking my stance on this subject, I would like to establish a few concepts in this argument. The fundamental difference between immediate issues and future problems lies in means of perception and impact. Immediate issues, which can be observed directly, impact the human society and nature world in tangible form, whereas issues of the future are deduced from current social and environmental phenomena, and therefore has yet brought any physical impact.

With above premises, I agree with the argument that government should deploy most of its resources on pressing issues of the current time instead of strategizing for future issues based on assumptions. With machine learning and big data heralding the era of artificial intelligence (AI), there have been countless heated discussion on the potential risk that AI could be out of control and eventually topple rules of human society. Such concerns are mainly derived from fast pace of development of technologies, which leave little time for policy makers to perfect related laws and regulations, and many times provide capabilities beyond comprehension of layman. Indeed, improper use of such technologies could lead to precarious situations, such as drones armed with facial recognition capability that can launch targeted strike. In this case, the immediate issue for government to solve is regulation and prevention of illegal usage, as there are substantial evidences that AI technology can perform such task. On the other hand, comprehensions on AI ruling humans are unfounded due to underlying principles of the technology, and therefore government should not digress to prevent this issue.

Some people may argue that it would be ignorant and short-sighted to overlook signs of future issues, as it may be too late when the posited issues come into reality. I totally agree with this point. As I stated earlier, government should make decisions on whether the issue is worth focusing on based on evidences of perception and impact. If there are logical evidences that there is a chance that the event may happen and ramification is huge, such as explosion of nuclear plants, no matter how small the chance is, preventive measures should be taken.

In a nutshell, I agree that government should focus on immediate issues rather than problems of the future, and make such decisions based on evidences of perception and impact.