Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Military of a nation is necessary to care of its security from foreign enimies as well is internal threats and is inevitable part of an nation's investment. And art is what is required for a civilized society, it represents culture, demographic and in one way can be stated as identity of the country. In a gist, Art is part of nation/s identity and identity of a nation is what military protects.

So it is necessary to give considerable emphasis on spending in both military and art, but the proportion in which investment is to be done by the government largely depends on parameters such as period od nation development, threat from enemies etc.

A country which is torn apart by war and/or is prone to war like situation which can pose threat to national security need to spend more on military. So, this is all about priorities. The country with relative less prone to war and chaos, can focus on other aspects such as art. Many other situation such as a country which is in initial stages of development and has a weak military force would push funding towards military rather than arts where as a country with well developed military force can think of strengthening the art aspect.

Moreover, military spending is generally solely from the government whereas art is field which is promoted and supported many times by individual groups interested in art. So the multiple sources of art funding partially obviates the need of art spending by government tantamount to military spending.

Last but not the least, it is well known that military equipments are very expensive to buy and build and in genral require largest proportion of a nation GDP. If the author qualifies the argument by replacing the word 'invest' with emphasize, the recommendation would sound more reasonable because even equal emphasis in both the areas would require more monetry spending on military due to its sophisticated equipments and peculiar requirements.

Although the author, through the recommendation, which tries to support equal spending in art and military by 'Government', empathizes with lovers and admirers of art, the recommendation can not be considered universal and depends on nation to nation.