Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art in itself is an all encompassing industry. Encouraging and promoting art should be the underlying motive of all governmental economic policies. If not more, an equal amount should be invested in both art and military. Even though military is the backbone of any country, investment in art has multiple benefits.

Galleries, museums, theatre plays and opera shows constitute of art in various forms. These build the sources of aesthetic pleasure as well as recreation for the general public. Having such institutes in place will give a sense of belonging to the people of the nation and be close to one another while bonding over art. Since art has no barrier, these can be constituted as public goods as well. The importance of such public goods cannot be immediately estimated but are beneficial in the long run.

Only the government will be able to fund such activities as a huge capital expenditure is required at the initial stages. Later on, the public can be charged a nominal fee for the maintenance of such facilities. Thus, investing in art is a good source of revenue for the government. Curation of art pieces as well as performing arts will not only boost the morale of artists but will also engage them in gainful employment necessary for survival. The money thus spent will be coming back to the economy in terms of expenditure on goods and services and through taxation of people earning above a certain pre-specified amount.

One can argue that military spending by the government is vital to maintain peace, harmony and national security. However, opening up the defence sector to private players is a much needed step to maintain an equilibrium where national income is concerned. Disinvestment by the government sector for the military is the need of the hour if it is fully funded by the government. Private players will ensure that superior quality products are manufactured at competitive rates.

Therefore, government spending in arts is required to preserve culture and heritage. This will ensure that tourists can indulge in art experiences and give back to the economy.